Monday, December 11, 2006

Children's Laureate

The next Children's Laureate will be appointed in May 2007. This award acknowledges the importance of exceptional children's authors in creating the readers of tomorrow.

If you would like to nominate a children's writer and/or illustrator to be the next Children's Laureate click on the link below:

Previous children's laureates are:

  • Quintin Blake (1999-2001)
  • Anne Fine (2001-2003)
  • Michael Morpurgo (2004-2005)
  • Jaqueline Wilson (2005-2007)
The person you suggest has to be a living UK writer, poet or an illustrator who has written or illustrated many books and been published for at least eight years. Nominations are open until the end of the month, Sunday 31st December 2006.

No comments: